Festival d'Avignon

Nicolas and I go to the Avignon festival every year. We see 4 to 5 shows during the day. We start around 11:00 am and finish around 22:30 pm and return around midnight / 1:00 am, after having dinner. Avignon is 1 hour from the lodgings “In the shade of an olive tree” so very easy to do during the day. It’s an intense day, yes, but so interesting and entertaining!

Those who do not want to see paid indoor shows can take advantage of the free street shows. It’s a great atmosphere in the streets of Avignon with troupes that declaim their verses, acrobats, dancers, mimes, etc … There is classical theater but also popular. Laughter lovers will favor boulevard pieces or “stand up” but there are also dance, music and magic shows. Children will be able to see shows put on for them. The choice is vast. It is worth going there at least once for the atmosphere there: the children love it!

A little history

It was Jean Vilar who founded the Avignon Festival in 1947. Every year in July, Avignon turns into a giant theater with dozens of large and small rooms, in places of architectural heritage or in dedicated places transformed for the occasion. There is the iN festival at the start with officially invited troupes, but in parallel, the OFF festival was created with troupes that were not originally selected by the festival management. All this has evolved well and now between the IN and the OFF we offer hundreds of very different shows. It is a mixture of cultures, learned and popular that will delight the most numerous. But beware, if you go there once, you can only come back, you will be so delighted.

Avignon Festival official website

Leave a Reply

Festival d'Avignon

Nicolas et moi allons tous les ans au festival d’Avignon. Nous voyons 4 à 5 spectacles dans la journée. Nous commençons vers 11H et finissons vers 22H30 et rentrons vers minuit/1h00 du matin, après avoir dîné. Avignon est à 1h00 des gîtes “A l’ombre d’un olivier” donc très facile à faire dans la journée. C’est une journée intense, certes, mais tellement intéressante et divertissante!

Ceux qui ne veulent pas voir de spectacles en salle payants, peuvent profiter des spectacles de rue gratuits. C’est une superbe ambiance dans les rues d’Avignon avec des troupes qui déclament leurs vers, des acrobates, danseurs, mimes, etc… On y trouve du théâtre classique mais également populaire. Les amateurs du rire favoriseront les pièces de boulevard ou « stand up » mais on y trouve également des spectacles de danse, de musique, de magie. Les enfants pourront y voir des spectacles montés pour eux. Le choix est vaste. Cela vaut la peine d’y aller au moins une fois pour l’ambiance qui y règne: les enfants adorent!

Un peu d’histoire

C’est Jean Vilar qui fonde le festival d’Avignon en 1947. Tous les ans au mois de juillet, Avignon se transforme en théâtre géant avec des dizaines de salles petites ou grandes , dans des lieux du patrimoine architectural ou dans des lieux dédiés transformés pour l’occasion. Il y a le festival iN au départ avec des troupes invitées officiellement mais en parallèle, s’est créé le festival OFF avec des troupes qui, à l’origine, n’étaient pas sélectionnées par la direction du festival. Tout cela a bien évolué et maintenant entre le IN et le OFF on vous propose des centaines de spectacles très différents. C’est un mélange de cultures, savantes et populaires qui raviront les plus nombreux. Mais attention, si vous y allez une fois, vous ne pourrez que revenir, tellement vous serez enchantés.

site officiel du Festival d’Avignon

Leave a Reply